Fernandina Beach Amelia Island Florida Local Area Information

Anne Barbanel header picture

Fernandina Beach Amelia Island Florida Local Area Information

Specializing in residential property throughout Nassau County, Florida and its' fine communities; Beach or Waterfront Condos, Ocean view Town Homes, Water view Single Family Homes, Gated Community Estate Homes, Marsh view Condos and Homes on Deep water with docks, Anne Barbanel is a Top Producer, a repeat award winning Realtor committed to excellence and expert service.

Anne's Transactional
Real Estate Services

Find the Right Home FAST!
Click Here

Free Search of Entire MLS Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach, Yulee, Florida MLS


Free Market Analysis
Click Here


Free DVD Historic Fernandina Beach, Florida

Free Relocation Package
Click Here

A low cost of living, a great climate, a diverse culture, plenty to see and do all make make Amelia Island, Fernandina Beach and Nassau County an attractive place to live. Those who do live here say a many nice things - a great place to live, work and raise children, or even retire. Florida definitely has lots to offer. No state income tax. A $25,000 homestead exemption, affordable housing. But even in Florida, there is a lot to getting a household set up.

General Information

What you'll be asked to provide: Utilities and other service providers require driver's license and Social Security numbers, new and old addresses, home and work phone numbers and employer's name. Some require applications be made in person with a photo ID. Others allow startups by phone or have applications online.

Voter registration: You can apply to register to vote at any time, but to vote in an election, you must be registered in your county by the registration closing date, normally the 29th day before each election. You can visit county election offices to register, or start the process online. Florida has a motor-voter law, which means you may register to vote when you receive a driver's license or identification card.

Florida is also a closed primary state so that, in a primary, you are limited to choose candidates of the party in which you're registered. If you do not wish to declare a party, you can only vote on issues and non-partisan candidates in that primary.

To register, you must be a U.S. citizen; a Florida resident; 18 years old; not be adjudicated mentally incapacitated; or not be a convicted felon who hasn't had civil rights restored. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.; bring your signed voter card and a picture identification card. Polling places here are normally less busy during the mid-morning and mid-afternoon.

Property taxes: Nassau County offer discounts for property taxes paid early; 4% if paid in November; 3% if paid in December; 2% if paid in January; and 1% if paid in February. The gross amount of tax is due in March and will be delinquent as of April 1

Homestead exemption: Most Florida residents qualify for a $25,000 property tax exemption, which means $25,000 is deducted from the assessed value for taxes of a qualified primary residence. First-time applicants should supply a Social Security number, proof of residency (such as voter's registration or driver's license) and evidence of home ownership, such as a deed or contract. Apply with the county property appraiser's office before March 1 of the year for which the exemption is sought.

Intangible tax: Beginning January 1, 2007, individuals, married couples, personal representatives of estates, and businesses are no longer required to file an annual intangible personal property tax return reporting their stocks, bonds, mutual funds, money market funds, shares of business trusts, and unsecured notes. The Legislature has repealed the annual tax on these properties. Not all intangible taxes have been repealed. The intangible tax on leases of government-owned real property and the one-time intangible tax on notes secured by a mortgage on Florida real property are still in effect. For more information, see the Department of Revenue's Tax Information Publication (TIP) #07C02-01.

Driver's licenses: Florida law requires identification, proof of date of birth and Social Security number before a driver license or identification card can be issued. You will need a vision screening even if you have a license from another state. For an original license, you must have primary identification, which can be a birth certificate, passport OR certificate of naturalization, AND a corroborating second document that can include a Social Security card, military ID, life insurance policy, school transcript, voter ID card or marriage certificate.

A driver's license or ID card from any state EXCEPT Alaska, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin may be used as primary identification, but a secondary document is still needed. People from the states listed must present a primary document and can use their license as a secondary substantiating document.

If you are sent a notice that you are eligible, your driver's licenses can be renewed for $15 by phone at 866-467-3639 ($2.90 fee) You can also renew by mail.

Car insurance: Mandatory minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL), even if vehicle is in other state or inoperative.

Motor vehicles: You are required to register all motor vehicles and obtain a license plate within 30 days of becoming a Florida resident. Provide personal identification; title or proof of out-of-state financing; out-of-state registration; and proof of PIP and PDL insurance. Registering a vehicle for the first time costs $100. Basic fees range from $27.60 to $45.60, depending on vehicle classification and weight. Register toll-free at 866-467-3639.

Termite bond: Know right up front that termites are a serious problem in Florida. State law requires that a contract be issued whenever a termite treatment is conducted. If building or buying a new house, make sure that the contractor or developer has a termite protection contract and ask for a copy. Check what kind of warranty the contract has and whether repair to structural damage is included. The warranty must be valid for a year and offer the homeowner the option to extend the contract annually for four more years. If you do not renew your contract, it automatically becomes null and void.

If buying a house on the secondary market, make sure that a termite inspection will be done (be present if possible) and get written documentation of any treatments, inspections and contracts issued on the structure for at least three years. You are responsible for obtaining or transferring a contract. For more information, call the Florida Bureau of Entomology and Pest Control at 850-921-4177 or access www.floridatermitehelp.org.

Electric power: Different utility companies serve our area.

Propane gas and oil: Many propane gas companies serve the area. If you prefer a gas stove, gas fireplace, gas water heater or gas-heated pool. For older homes, many heating oil companies also deliver to residences throughout the area.

Watering restrictions: Nassau County currently does not allow watering between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. In times of drought, communities may install further restrictions. For information, contact the St. Johns River Water Management District at 800-232-0904 or access sjr.state.fl.us/.

Garbage/yard waste collection: Different garbage haulers serve within the same areas. Check locations and phone numbers below or call the county's Solid Waste Department. For those without curbside pickup of yard waste, county landfills are available, usually for a fee. Yard waste can be tree limbs, grass clippings, leaves, etc.

Recycling: Programs are ongoing in all First Coast counties through city-provided curbside service, private contractors and/or dropoff sites and landfills. Basically, you can recycle newspapers; rinsed-out brown and clear glass bottles or jars (no green glass in Baker County); cans; plastic bottles and jugs labeled 1 (soda or water bottles) or 2 (milk jugs and detergent bottles). No foil, no vinyl, no tempered glass, no bottle or jug tops, no plastic bags. Some communities do not allow curbside pickup of used motor oil and batteries, magazines, telephone books or corrugated cardboard.

Call the county Solid Waste Departments listed below for particular regulations. Telephone service: Many communications companies now provide local and long distance telephone service and some, such as Alltel, BellSouth and AT&T Broadband, offer Internet services as well.

Getting started in Nassau County [www.nassaucountyfl.com]

Tax Collector (property taxes, licenses, vehicle and boat registrations)

Main office: 11 N. 14th St., Fernandina Beach 32034
Mailing address: P.O. Box 708, Fernandina Beach 32035).
Phone: 904-261-5566.
Hours: 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday.
Website: www.nassaufltc.com

Branches:
416 Centre St., Fernandina Beach 32034.
Phone: 904-491-7415. Hours: 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday.

2832 E. State Road 200, Yulee 32097.
Phone: 904-225-2942 or 904-225-9920.
Hours: 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Tuesday-Friday.

1943 Mickler St., Callahan 32011.
Phone: 904-879-1930 or 904-879-4227.
Hours: 9 a.m.-noon and 1-4 p.m. Monday-Thursday.

Driver's licenses
2832 E. State Road 200, Yulee 32097.
Phone: 904-225-8947.
Hours: 7:30 a.m.-6 p.m. Tuesday-Friday.

Property Appraiser
P.O. Drawer 870, Fernandina Beach 32034.
Phone: 321-5733. www.nassauflpa.com

Voter registration
Supervisor of Elections 11 N. 14th St., Fernandina Beach 32034.
Phone: 904-491-7500.
Hours: 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday.
www.votenassau.com
Registration applications at various locations, including driver's license offices, libraries, community centers, family services offices, Chamber of Commerce and the following:

  • Fernandina Beach City Hall, 204 Ash St., Fernandina Beach 32034.
    Phone: 904-277-7305.
  • Callahan Town Hall, 1908 S. Kings Road, Callahan 32011
    Mailing address, P.O. Box 5016, Callahan 32011).
    Phone: 904-879-3801.
  • Hilliard Town Hall, 15879 W. County Road 108, Hilliard 32046
    Mailing Address: P.O. Box 249, Hilliard 32046).
    Phone: 904-845-3555.

Electric and water/sewer

Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach (electric/water):
Florida Public Utilities, 911 S. 8th St., Fernandina Beach 32034.
Phone: 904-261-3663.
Deposit waived with letter of good credit from a utility company. Otherwise, deposit is $180 or two months average billing, whichever is greater for electric and $20 for water hookup. Connection fee of $8 for electric and $12 for water. Average monthly residential electric bill is about $57.

Fernandina Beach (sewer):
Sanitation Division, 1005 S. Fifth St. Extension, Fernandina Beach 32034.
Phone: 904-277-7385.
Charges are paired with garbage collection on your Florida Public Utilities bill.

West of Intracoastal to Duval County line/Yulee/Macclenny (electric):
Florida Power & Light, General Mail Facility, Miami 33188.
Phone: 800-226-3545 New homes: 800-462-0561.

Callahan, Hilliard (electric):
Okefenoke Rural Electric, 904-845-7477 or 800-262-5131.

Portions of Nassau County (water):
JEA, 904-665-6000. www.jea.com
Other unincorporated areas: Various private companies dig wells and install septic tanks.

Garbage collection

For information contact Nassau County Solid Waste Department
904-321-5770 (Eastside) or 904-879-5722 (Westside).

Fernandina Beach:
Sanitation Division, 1005 S. Fifth St. Extension, Fernandina Beach 32034.
Phone: 904-277-7388 or 904-277-7380. Garbage picked up twice weekly. Charges paired with sewer service on your Florida Public Utilities bill.

Outside Fernandina Beach city limits (private haulers):
Arwood Co., 13255 Lanier Road, Fernandina Beach, 904-751-5656
BFI, 904-261-7186;
Southland Waste Systems, 904-277-4501.

Yulee:
Refuse Services, 904-225-0188.
Recycling: Access www.recyclenassau.org/where.htm or call 904-321-5770.

Solid/yard waste disposal:
West Nassau County landfill, U.S. 1, Callahan. Fernandina Beach or Yulee, Phone: 904-321-5770
Other parts of county: 904-879-6321.
Hours: 6 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday; 7 a.m.-5 p.m. Saturday.
Household garbage, tires, appliances, oil, batteries, yard waste, etc.
Certain items carry a fee. There is no hazardous waste disposal site in Nassau County.

For more information or assistance call 904 583-0734 or Click Here

NOTE: Information provided on this web site is exclusively for consumers' personal, non-commercial use and may not be used for any purpose other than to identify prospective properties consumers may be interested in purchasing. Prices, availability and other information is deemed reliable, however may contain errors and is not guaranteed. Information is subject to change without warning. Please check with real estate specialist Anne Barbanel to verify information.